Logo_ChronoMems-3

HOW DOES IT WORK?

WHAT IS IT FOR?

The ChronoMEMS® solutions use a new generation of hybrid MEMS sensors that function without any electronics or energy source. They are capable of counting and memorizing mechanical incidents, such as deformations, vibrations, impacts and accelerations over periods lasting several decades.

Once installed on the structure (an aircraft, ship, vehicle, bridge, pipeline, building, etc.), this innovation operates like a black box that records the real life of the support. In this way, the ChronoMEMS® innovation addresses the need for structural health monitoring, which produces data to improve dependability. Precise and individual knowledge of the events affecting the monitored structure reveals its potential residual lifespan and allows for unmatched quality in the assessment of its operating reliability. This means that the ChronoMEMS® solutions can be used to take operational decisions immediately and on the spot, for example for fleet management purposes. An approach diametrically opposed to big data! These solutions can also be used to optimize maintenance in operational condition, with a view to cutting operating costs.

They form an essential supplement to simulations and theoretical models, because the ChronoMEMS® solutions produce objective and individual information on the actual use of a structure that is isolated or part of a fleet.

The applications of ChronoMEMS®

• Passive health and usage monitoring systems (P-HUMS),

• Individual monitoring and/or fleet management by capturing factual information in situ that can be used to determine the residual lifespan of the monitored structures,

• Maintenance in operational condition and maintenance according to condition in order to make equipment more available,

• Optimization of maintenance in order to cut operating costs,

• Safety and reliability of structures and components using a decision-support system before returning to service after an incident (“GO/NO GO” type operational decisions),

• Detection of critical and/or out of spec events based on the impartial monitoring of the actual conditions of use.

THE ADVANTAGES

ChronoMEMS® is very simple to implement, due to its passive character. There is no need to install cables, electronics or batteries.

ChronoMEMS® is service- and maintenance-free.

ChronoMEMS® has an unlimited lifespan. This means that it can be installed on facilities that will last for several decades.

Every ChronoMEMS® is tested individually before shipment, so there is no need for on-site calibration. And unlike conventional stress measurement devices, it does not have to be re-calibrated.

The information produced by ChronoMEMS® is 100% useful, while other widely-used techniques demand complex post-processing of the data. Since there is no need for post-processing in the field, the number of ChronoMEMS® sensors can be multiplied so that each structure is monitored individually, instead of just a sample. Consequently, the information is significantly more reliable.

The information in ChronoMEMS® is tamper-proof. The information can only be altered or modified by destroying the sensor.

ChronoMEMS® is an infallible monitor of the physical condition of the monitored structure, because the mechanical memory in situ is inalterable. Errors of interpretation are ruled out by the simple read-out system.

ChronoMEMS® is compatible with severe environments. In particular, it is insensitive to all forms or radiation and electromagnetic interference. It is also suitable for use in pyrotechnical environments and can even be configured to withstand temperatures of several hundreds of degrees.

OUR PRODUCTS

ChronoMEMS® Stress
ChronoMEMS® Stress
These solutions are designed to be passively activated when a critical stress threshold is exceeded due to mechanical factors (traction, compression, bending, etc.). They quantify the amplitude of the mechanical event to which the monitored structure is exposed. With its totally passive mechanical memory that can contain tens of millions of cycles, ChronoMEMS®Stress is the only energy-free mechanical fatigue sensor on the market. In the ultra-simplified version without a mechanical memory, this sensor can be used as a unique event marker, or a “spy” that detects the occurrence of phenomena, such as excessive mechanical loads due to an accident or use out of scope, warping, etc.
ChronoMEMS® Thermo
ChronoMEMS® Thermo
These solutions are designed to be passively activated when a critical threshold is exceeded due to thermal factors. The sensor detects the expansion of the monitored support and indicates the amplitude of the thermal event. Applications include the detection and quantification of overheating or excessive cooling. The temperature range stretches from -195°C to +600°C. The sensors can be equipped with a mechanical memory.
ChronoMEMS® Shock
ChronoMEMS® Shock
These solutions are designed to monitor levels of so-called “low g” parasite accelerations and, in particular, to count the series of accelerations when transporting loads, in handling operations, in the event of malicious acts, misuse or use out of scope. The ranges of acceleration thresholds covered are customized to meet the customer’s needs. They generally cover accelerations of between 1 g and a few tens of g. These sensors can be equipped with a mechanical memory. SilMach also offers “high g” passive monitoring solutions, ranging from a few hundred g to several thousands of g.
ChronoMEMS® Pressure
ChronoMEMS® Pressure
These solutions, which are adapted to pressurized appliances and pressurized gas or liquid pipelines, capture and record variations in pressure across a broad range and with high sensitivity. Since they are passive, these sensors can be used in explosive and pyrotechnical environments. These sensors can be equipped with a mechanical memory.

Logo_ChronoMems-3

COMMENT ÇA MARCHE ?

À QUOI ÇA SERT ?

Les solutions ChronoMEMS® mobilisent une nouvelle génération de capteurs micromécaniques MEMS hybrides fonctionnant sans électronique et sans source d’énergie, capables de compter et mémoriser des évènements mécaniques tels que des déformations, des vibrations, des chocs, des accélérations … avec une autonomie de plusieurs dizaines d’années.

Une fois installé sur la structure (un avion, un navire, un véhicule, un pont, une canalisation, un bâtiment etc.), cette innovation fonctionne comme une boîte noire témoignant de la vie réelle de la structure. L’innovation ChronoMEMS® adresse ainsi le monitoring de la structure (ou « Structural Health Monitoring ») dont l’exploitation des données permet d’améliorer la sûreté d’emploi. La connaissance précise et individualisée des évènements vécus par la structure monitorée donne accès à son potentiel de durée de vie résiduelle et autorise ainsi un verdict d’une qualité unique en termes de sûreté de fonctionnement. Les solutions ChronoMEMS® permettent par conséquent de prendre des décisions opérationnelles immédiates, sur site, dans un contexte de gestion de flotte. Une approche radicalement inverse du « big data » ! Ces solutions permettent également l’optimisation du maintien en conditions opérationnelles (MCO) dans un objectif de réduction des coûts d’exploitation.

Il s’agit donc d’un complément indispensable aux simulations et modèles théoriques puisque les solutions ChronoMEMS® permettent de fournir une information objective et individualisée sur l’emploi réel d’une  structure isolée ou intégrée dans une flotte.

Les applications de ChronoMEMS®

• Monitoring « sans énergie » de structures (Passive Health and Usage Monitoring Systems (P-HUMS),

• Suivi en service individualisé et/ ou gestion de flotte via capture in situ informations factuelles qui permettent de déterminer la durée de vie résiduelle des structures monitorées,

• Maintien en condition opérationnelle et maintenance selon état pour améliorer la disponibilité des équipements,

• Optimisation de la maintenance pour la maîtrise des coûts d’exploitation,

• Sûreté et sécurité de fonctionnement des structures et des composants au moyen d’une aide à la décision pour la remise en service après incident (prise de décision opérationnelle de type « GO/NOGO »),

• Détection d’évènements critiques et/ou hors spécification d’emploi via le témoin impartial des conditions réelles d’emploi (fonction « mouchard »).

QUELS AVANTAGES ?

Grâce au caractère passif de « ChronoMEMS® », la mise en œuvre est extrêmement simple. Pas de câblage, pas d’électronique, pas de batterie à installer…
ChronoMEMS® ne nécessite aucun entretien ni maintenance.
ChronoMEMS® a une durée de vie illimitée. Il peut donc équiper des installations prévues pour durer des dizaines d’années.
ChronoMEMS® est testé individuellement avant livraison, il n’y a pas d’opération de calibrage sur site. Aucune recalibration n’est nécessaire, contrairement aux jauges de contraintes traditionnelles.
L’information fournie par ChronoMEMS® est 100% utile, alors que les techniques habituellement utilisées nécessitent un post-traitement lourd des données. Libéré de cette contrainte de post-traitement sur le terrain, il est possible de multiplier le nombre de capteurs ChronoMEMS® et donc de monitorer chaque structure individuellement (et non plus seulement un échantillon…). La fiabilité de l’information est ainsi largement améliorée.
L’information contenue dans ChronoMEMS® est inviolable. À moins de détruire le compteur, l’information n’est pas altérable ni modifiable.
ChronoMEMS® agit comme un témoin infaillible du vécu physique de la structure monitorée, la mémoire mécanique in situ étant inaltérable. Grâce à son système de lecture simple, aucune erreur d’interprétation n’est possible.
ChronoMEMS® est compatible avec les environnements sévères. Il est, en particulier, insensible aux radiations de toute nature et aux perturbations électromagnétiques. Il est également adapté pour un emploi en environnement pyrotechnique et peut en outre être configuré pour subir des températures pouvant atteindre plusieurs centaines de degrés.

NOS PRODUITS

ChronoMEMS® Stress
ChronoMEMS® Stress
Ces solutions sont conçues pour se déclencher passivement lors du franchissement d’un seuil de contrainte critique ayant une origine mécanique (traction, compression, flexion…). Elles permettent de quantifier l’amplitude de l’évènement mécanique subi par la structure monitorée. Doté d’une mémoire mécanique totalement passive pouvant atteindre plusieurs dizaines de millions de cycle, « ChronoMEMS®Stress » est le seul capteur de fatigue mécanique sans énergie du marché. Dans une version ultra simplifiée sans mémoire mécanique, ce capteur peut être utilisé comme marqueur d’un évènement unique, un « mouchard » qui témoigne de l’apparition d’un phénomène tel qu’une surcharge mécanique liée à un évènement accidentel ou une utilisation hors du domaine d’emploi, un phénomène de fluage etc.
ChronoMEMS® Thermo
ChronoMEMS® Thermo
Ces solutions sont conçues pour se déclencher passivement lors du franchissement d’un seuil critique ayant une origine thermique. C’est la dilatation du support monitoré qui est détectée par le capteur et qui donne l’amplitude de l’évènement thermique. Les applications concernées sont : l’identification et la quantification d’une surchauffe ou d’un refroidissement excessif. La gamme de température va de – 195°C à + 600°C. Les capteurs peuvent être dotés d’une mémoire mécanique.
ChronoMEMS® Shock
ChronoMEMS® Shock
Ces solutions permettent de monitorer des niveaux d’accélérations parasites dits « à bas niveau de g » et permettent notamment de comptabiliser des séries d’accélérations subies lors de transports de charges, opérations de manutention, malveillance, usage inapproprié ou hors domaine d’emploi etc. Les gammes de seuils d’accélérations couvertes sont customisées en fonction de la demande client. Elles couvrent typiquement des accélérations comprises en 1 g et quelques dizaines de g. Les capteurs peuvent être dotés d’une mémoire mécanique. SilMach dispose aussi de solutions de monitoring passif « haut niveau de g », allant de plusieurs centaines à plusieurs milliers de « g ».
ChronoMEMS® Pressure
ChronoMEMS® Pressure
Adaptées aux appareils à pression et autres dispositifs de transport de gaz ou de liquides sous pression, ces solutions captent et comptabilisent les variations de pression sur une large gamme et avec une grande sensibilité. Grâce à leur caractère passif, les capteurs peuvent être utilisés en environnement explosif et pyrotechnique. Les capteurs peuvent être dotés d’une mémoire mécanique.